From Bruce Robison‘s blog, concerning recent events in the Diocese of Pittsburgh:

‘A good deal has been written about the so-called “non-compete” provision in the settlement with St. Philip’s: the requirement of a five-year period of disaffiliation from the Anglican Diocese of the ACNA or any other similar judicatory. I certainly understand why this is a particularly painful element in the St. Philip’s agreement for many in the Anglican Diocese.

‘I also understand the rationale, though. The leaders of the Episcopal Church believe with good reason that the ACNA and other continuing Anglican bodies are actively working at the national and international Anglican Communion level to undermine the standing of the Episcopal Church in the Communion. It seems counter-intuitive, I guess, to enter into favorable agreements about the sale or release of assets that will then, in some way, be used to support this “anti-Episcopal Church” campaign…  I personally would have preferred that this “disaffiliation” had not been a part of the agreement–not because I don’t understand its rationale, but because I believe it will further damage the relationship between the members of our two diocesan families and make more difficult the ability of our own diocese to have an effective Christian ministry and witness.’

And from a commenter on the blog: ‘If we were dealing with a parish currently in the Episcopal Church, it might make sense to ask them not to enter any new fellowship for a certain period, but to ask a parish to break Christian fellowship that it already has seems to me as big a slap in the face to the spirit of Christ’s prayer in John 17 as the realignment itself. I wish we hadn’t done it and I hope we don’t do it again.’

