Describing the debate over women bishops in the Church of England, Ian Paul said

The first speaker stood up and said ‘I am a liberal. For me, this is a non-issue; I look to see what God is doing in the world and it is to make women equal.’ The second speaker said: ‘I am a Catholic. For me the issue is tradition, and this notion is an innovation that should be rejected.’ My response went as follows: ‘For me, as an evangelical but more as an Anglican, my authority in this matter is neither society nor the tradition but what Scripture says.’ It was fascinating to see three approaches in the Church represented so clearly.

Good to see that not only are the differences between these Christian traditions so clear, but that the firm identification of Anglican and Evangelical is still asserted in the C of E’s governing body. To see how Paul himself deals with what Scripture says, go here.

