Music in worship sometimes gets mentioned even when we’re discussing eucharistic sacrifice (that imaginary beast), so perhaps we should consider this post by Rebecca Rollett at the Pittsburgh Camerata website. Rebecca directs the Camerata, whose repertoire is described as ‘the entire choral repertory, with an emphasis on Renaissance/Baroque and 20th century music’.  She has a a Masters degree in Choral Conducting from Carnegie Mellon University, and teaches organ at Duquesne University in Pittsburgh. She is also a devout Christian. Her whole ‘take’ on sacred music is worth reading, but here is an appetiser:

The use of music in worship is an age-old argument. The real question is, what is its purpose? … “Music wasn’t simply a chance for the congregation to sing together, rather it was a series of sonic sign-posts angled towards illumination of the underlying spiritual truth of the service.” The question for me is, does it continue to function as such?  I started to write that “I am perhaps the wrong person to ask,” but as I pondered it I realized that perhaps I am the right person to ask, because I’m one of the few people I know that has a deep and abiding love for the long tradition of sacred choral music, and yet attends a church with a “worship team.” In fact, I not only attend such a church, I am on the worship team. This is an unpaid position, so it isn’t a question of working for the highest bidder. I am there by choice.

