From a recent issue of Australia’s evangelical magazine, the Briefing:

Should I decline to co-lead a Bible study if there are men in the group? Should I cover my head (and if so, would an old towel do)? Should I keep silent during the public question time in church at the end of the Bible talk? To whom am I to submit, since I don’t have a husband—to all men? In everything?

If you’re anything like me, you’ve asked all these questions (and many more!) as you’ve read parts of the Bible like 1 Timothy 2, 1 Corinthians 11 and 14, and Ephesians 5. But let me ask you: have you ever genuinely allowed room in your heart and your mind for the possibility that the answer to any of these questions is yes?

No matter what you think of the conclusion drawn by author Emma Thornett, it’s a great reminder of one of the most important evangelical principles: when you read Scripture, be ready for your most cherished principles to be overturned. If you’re not willing to allow that, you’re not treating the Bible as the word of God, but the word of man.

