Psalm 30

I will extol you, O my Lord,
For you have drawn me up.
You have not let my foes rejoice
Because of my demise.
My God, I cried to you for help,
And you restored my health.
From Sheol you brought up my soul,
My life from darkest pit.

Sing praises to the Lord, his saints,
His holy name give thanks.
His anger for a moment lasts,
But favor all lifelong.
Our tears may tarry for the night,
But joy comes with the dawn.
I said in my prosperity,
“I shall not e’er be moved.”

O Lord, by your great favor, you
Have made my mount stand strong;
But when you hid your face, dismay
Encompassed me about.
I cried to you, O Lord, I cried,
For mercy did I plead:
“What profit is there in my death,
If to the grave I go?

Will dust praise you? Oh! will it tell
Of your great faithfulness?
Hear, O my Lord, be merciful!
O Lord, my helper be!”
My mourning you have turned to dance;
My sackcloth, robes of joy.
My glory sings your praises, Lord:
“Thanks be to God, for e’er!”

Metrical setting by Lenny Anderson, vicar of St Francis-in-the-Fields, Somerset PA, where it will be sung this Sunday. Written for Ellacombe (Hymnal 210) but will work to any CMD tune.

