The closer the better

The closer the better

In the past I’ve recommended Simeon Trust conferences as a way to attend a Proclamation Trust-style preaching workshop now that EFAC-USA is no longer organising them, but I need to add a word of caution. Last Sunday while travelling I attended a church where one of the Simeon Trust workshop leaders was preaching, and was very disappointed. He preached on one clause in a verse, and in doing so appeared to contradict the rest of the verse. It was the classic mistake of making a good biblical point but not making it by expounding the passage in the Bible that makes the point, which comes down to making the point on your own authority rather than the authority of the word of God.

If you’re thinking of going to a St Simeon’s Trust preaching conference, let me know which one and I’ll tell you if you might be wasting your registration fee.

